IF I WERE YOU…CONDITIONALS SENTENCES

Imagen

The conditional sentences are sometimes confusing for learners of English, for Spanish learners the problem comes when you try to translate our ‘subjunctive’..

There are three types of the if-clauses.

type condition
I condition possible to fulfill
II condition in theory possible to fulfill
III condition not possible to fulfill (too late)

Form

type if clause main clause
I

Simple Present 

 

present/ will-future (or Modal + infinitive)/ imperative                                                               IF I STUDY I PASS/ WILL PASS THE EXAM

II

Simple Past 

 

would + infinitive *

IF I STUDIED I WOULD PASS THE EXAM

III

Past Perfect

 

 

would + have + past participle *

IF I HAD STUDIED I WOULD HAVE PASSED THE EXAM

* We can substitute could or might for would (should, may or must are sometimes possible, too).

If can be replaced by words or expressions with a similar meaning.

as long as 

assuming (that)

on condition (that)
on the assumption (that)
provided (that)
supposing (that)
unless
with the condition (that)

ONLINE EXERCISES ON CONDITIONALS: self correction

Complete correct tense: type I,II and III click here

Rephrasing click here

more exercises to print click here 

 

 

Responder

My That's English!

A window to our classroom activity

IES Goya English blog

A window to our classroom activity

englishblogbyanguela

A window to our classroom activity

English@Catalan- NataliaLZ's English Blog

extra resources, materials, links and information for students of English

